Mood Boards

Campaign: Bees and Butterflies
Audience: Gardeners living in a variety of different areas. Typically women between the ages of 30 and 50.

NUMBER ONE

inspiration1

For this first mood board I wanted to go for an arts and crafts movement type feel. I really enjoy the look of how the water colors interact with the black lines of the drawings that are incorporated with it. I wanted fonts that worked well together but also provided a lot of contrast. For a header I picked a script font, Signerica (Fat), and a sans serif font in two different weights, Futura (Bold and Light), to be used for subheadings and body copy. The colors I chose are very feminine, to help appeal to the female audience it is aimed towards. I also included some promotional pieces that I want to look into creating. These include bags to hold the seeds or tags for pouches of seeds.

NUMBER TWO

 

inspiration2

 

With this mood board, I wanted to go for an organic feel that touches on the art nouveau movement as well as some Swiss design. I like the interaction of the drawings with the real leaves in the top right hand corner. I also enjoy how the solid color of the paper makes the drawings stand out in the bottom left image. When deciding fonts, I wanted something that went with the organic, nature feel that I was looking for. I chose Brian Flower as a header and either Orator STD or Bodoni BE for body copy or sub headers. For this color scheme I chose colors in the primary color families with a feminine touch in order to appeal to the female audience I am targeting.

NUMBER THREE

inspiration3

For this last board, I wanted to change it up a bit and go for a clean, natural feel, so I decided to go with a Swiss design. This type of design would make it easy to organize information and would make sure that it doesn’t get too cluttered. For colors I chose ones with cool tones to them, but are still have an earthy and elegant feel. When thinking about fonts, I wanted ones that had a nice contrast with each other, but were still classic looking. I chose 3 different fonts, and they are Didot (Bold), Orator Std, and Futura (Bold).

